Zoological Survey of India

Zoological Survey of India

Zoological Survey of India, Govt. Of India


The Central Province of India, mainly comprising of the two states of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh together cover an area of 4,43,446 sq. km. It forms a part of the Deccan Plateau Biogeographic Zone of India, a tableland, with wide spanning green forests, rich in flora and fauna. The province has several conservation areas including the two Biosphere Reserves of Pachmarhi and Achanakmar-Amarkantak. The geographic area is bounded by the upper Gangetic Plains in the north, the Godavari valley in the south, the plains of Gujarat in the west and Odisha and Bihar states in the east.

Central Zone Regional Centre of Zoological Survey of India was established at Jabalpur on 24th February 1960 under Second Five Year Plan, to survey, ascertain and augment our knowledge of the faunal resources of Central India.

Central Zone Regional Centre covers two states of Central India namely Madhya Pradesh, (covering 51 Districts having 09 National Parks, 25 Wildlife Sanctuaries, 05 Tiger Reserves and 01 Biosphere Reserve) and Chhattisgarh (covering 27 Districts with 03 National Parks, 13 Wildlife Sanctuaries and 01 Tiger Reserve and 01 Biosphere Reserve shared with M.P.).