Apterygota Section

The Apterygota are most primitive, wingless hexapods usually found in moist places such as soil, forest leaf litter, humus, under stones, caves, in ant and termite nests. More than 34 programmes have been handled by the section and completed the database of 11 States and UTs. Five groups- like Collembola, Protura, Diplura, Archaeognatha and Zygentoma have been worked out. More than 220 research publications including Pictorial handbook of Collembola and Thysanura, and revisionary studies of Collembola have been published. The section has a holding of 42,333 specimens of Apterygota. Type Collection of Collembolan specimens includes 60 species of Holotypes.