Zoassological Survey of India

Zoological Survey of India

Zoological Survey of India, Govt. Of India
Print Icon

Apterygota Section


The Apterygota are most primitive, wingless hexapods usually found in moist places such as soil, forest leaf litter, humus, under stones, caves, in ant and termite nests. There are four groups under the Apterygota:  Thysanura (Microcoryphia & Zygentoma), Diplura, Protura and Collembola.
Apterygota section is one the important section under the Entomology Division of Zoological Survey of India, Kolkata. It is situated in the 5th Floor of ZSI, Head Quarter building, M-Block, New Alipore, Kolkata-53. At present, Dr. G. P. Mandal, Scientist-D, is the In-Charge of the section. Presently two Senior Zoological Assistants, one Laboratory Assistant and one Field Assistant are present in the section. The jurisdiction of the section is all over India. Following State Fauna & Union Territories like-Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura, Andhra Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and Andaman & Nicober Island was published. Fauna of Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh are in press. The state fauna of Jharkhand was submitted for publication. A total of 74 species under 42 genera of 13 families of 722 exs of Type Specimens of Apterygota were present in the section. More than 200 research publications including Pictorial handbook of Collembola & Thysanura, revisionary studies of Collembola was published.
                                                                                                                  Apterygota Section
                                                                                                               Staff & OC, Apterygota